Open Cockpit: DC-6 Airliner

Saturday, February 18, 2017 - Sunday, February 19, 2017 @ 10:00 am - 4:00 pm -

Look inside this vintage propliner!

A Plane that Crossed Oceans

Look Inside  this vintage aircraft, and learn about its history from the crew who has lovingly restored it.

The Douglas DC-6 was an iconic airliner of the 1950s and 1960s, carrying passengers across the globe in pressurized comfort. It is considered the pinnacle of piston propelled transport aircraft, but was displaced by far faster jet aircraft. Many DC-6s are still in use today. And you can sit in the “front office” and see just what made these birds go!

Find out more about the DC-6 nose section.

Open Cockpit weekends at the Pacific Coast Air Museum are your chance to get up close to selected aircraft and look inside. We raise the canopies and open the doors to give you an unobstructed view so you can see what a genuine fighter plane, attack plane, transport, helicopter, or other type is like from the inside!

Don’t Miss the Next Open Cockpit Weekend

RF-86F Sabre on the ramp at the Wings Over Wine Country Air Show
Open Cockpit: Korean War Weekend

Saturday, July 20, 2019 - Sunday, July 21, 2019

Look inside these historic aircraft of the Korean War era!

A-4E Skyhawk attack aircraft on the field at the Pacific Coast Air Museum. View is from directly in front. Pylons are filled with inert ordnance.
Open Cockpit: Vietnam War Weekend

Saturday, August 17, 2019 - Sunday, August 18, 2019

Look inside some of our most popular aircraft!

2018 Wings Over Wine Country Air Show logo
Wings Over Wine Country Air Show Sept 28-29

Saturday, September 28, 2019 - Sunday, September 29, 2019

The best family fun in the North Bay! Spectacular performers and static display aircraft!

Ilyushin IL-14 Crate
Open Cockpit: Russians vs. the Us Coast Guard

Saturday, October 19, 2019 - Sunday, October 20, 2019

Look inside some of our classic aircraft!

Open Cockpit: Trainer Weekend

Saturday, November 16, 2019 - Sunday, November 17, 2019

Look inside some of our classic aircraft!

Open Cockpit: December 14 at Santa Fly-In

Saturday, December 14, 2019

Look inside these historic aircraft!

Date

Saturday, February 18, 2017 - Sunday, February 19, 2017
10:00 am - 4:00 pm

LOCATION

One Air Museum Way

View Map

COST

Standard Museum admission charges apply.

UPCOMING EVENTS

drawing of a hot dog on a bun
Hot Dog Thursday: July
Thursday, July 11, 2019

Have a Hot Dog Lunch among the aircraft in our collection!

Canadian Forces Snowbirds aircraft diving straight down and trailing smoke
Air Show Meeting July 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Help Plan the 2019 Wings Over Wine Country Air Show!

Member Meeting July 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Guest Speakers: Hear from those who attended the June D-Day Commemoration events in France, and from a Veteran D-Day C-47 pilot. At our New Meeting Location