Open Cockpit: H-34 Choctaw Helicopter

Look inside this classic utility helicopter!

H-34 Choctaw Helicopter

Look inside this vintage aircraft on March 17 and 18, and learn about its history from the crew who has lovingly restored it.

The H-34 was the last of the really powerful piston-engined helicopters built in the US. It saw extensive use as a submarine chaser, utility/liaison, troop transport, airborne ambulance, cargo ship, and even gunship. This one served with Air America during the Vietnam War.

Find out more about the H-34 Choctaw.

Open Cockpit weekends at the Pacific Coast Air Museum are your chance to get up close to selected aircraft and look inside. We raise the canopies and open the doors to give you an unobstructed view so you can see what a genuine fighter plane, attack plane, transport, helicopter, or other type is like from the inside!

Don’t Miss the Next Open Cockpit Weekend

F-14 Tomcat on the ramp at the Pacific Coast Air Museum, viewed from directly ahead and slightly to the right.
Open Cockpit: Top Gun Weekend

Saturday, April 21, 2018 - Sunday, April 22, 2018

Look inside the F-5E Tiger II, F-16N Viper, and the mighty Grumman F-14A Tomcat!

close-up view of the cockpit area of the F-106 Delta Dart, with canopy up and a visitor looking inside
Open Cockpit: Supersonic Weekend

Saturday, May 19, 2018 - Sunday, May 20, 2018

Look inside the Blue Angels F-4N Phantom II Cockpit Simulator, the F-106 Delta Dart, the F-4C Phantom II, and the T-38 Talon!

nose of the AV-8C Hawker Harrier parked on the ramp at an airport
Open Cockpit: AV-8C Harrier

Saturday, June 16, 2018 - Sunday, June 17, 2018

Get a close look inside this famous VSTOL jump jet!

RF-86F Sabre on the ramp at the Wings Over Wine Country Air Show
Open Cockpit: Korean War Weekend

Saturday, July 21, 2018 - Sunday, July 22, 2018

Look inside these historic aircraft of the Korean War era!

A-4E Skyhawk attack aircraft on the field at the Pacific Coast Air Museum. View is from directly in front. Pylons are filled with inert ordnance.
Open Cockpit: Vietnam War Weekend

Saturday, August 18, 2018 - Sunday, August 19, 2018

Look inside some of our most popular aircraft!

Ilyushin IL-14 Crate
Open Cockpit: Russians vs. the Us Coast Guard

Saturday, October 20, 2018 - Sunday, October 21, 2018

Look inside some of our classic aircraft!


Saturday, March 17, 2018 - Sunday, March 18, 2018
10:00 am - 4:00 pm


One Air Museum Way

View Map


Standard Museum entry donations apply.


drawing of a hot dog on a bun
Hot Dog Thursday: April
Thursday, April 5, 2018

First of the season! Have a Hot Dog Lunch among the aircraft in our collection!

antique biplane flying upside down trailing smoke at an air show
Air Show Meeting April 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Help Plan the 2018 Wings Over Wine Country Air Show!

photo of a Naval Aviator laughing as he prepares to climb aboard an A-7 Corsair II attack plane
Member Meeting April 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Operation Nickel Grass - Why I Never Have to Buy a Drink in Israel, presented by Alan Chesterman